Wednesday July 23, 2008 at 12:50
War: War Criminal Websites! [NOT]
Nope. Sorry, Gawker, but people shouldn’t believe what you’ll read in the post linked above. The website currently being touted as run by the alter-ego of recently captured war criminal Radovan Karadzic is a hoax. An obvious one, at that.
DraganDabic.com was created yesterday:
http://whois.domaintools.com/dragandabic.com
Created: 2008-07-22
Expires: 2009-07-22
Updated: 2008-07-22
Took me 1 minute to figure that out. As a courtesy, because I like Gawker, I e-mailed managing editor Nick Denton first. But it frosts me a little that people ever fall for this kind of bullshit, so I decided to post something here.
Did Karadzic have a website? Sure, maybe. But it wasn’t DraganDabic.com.
ETA I: Here’s a screenshot of the Domaintools.com whois info showing the site creation date, just in case someone tries to alter the data later.
ETA II: Gawker updated the post noting that DraganDabic.com is probably b.s. and added this link:
http://www.psy-help-energy.com/
Which appears to be a legit website, created on 5/22/08. Attached to Karadzic in his alter-ego as “Dr. David?” Don’t know. But not a hoax on the order of the original site referenced above.